Success Stories

From headlining leading biennials to presenting solo shows at top cultural institutions, Aesthetica Art Prize alumni continue to demonstrate excellence across the globe.

Alinka Echeverria

Alinka Echeverría is a Mexican-British artist and visual anthropologist, shortlisted in 2017. She is a nominee for the Prix Elysée, and was selected for FOAM Talent. Her work has been exhibited at international venues and is part of collections including The Los Angeles County Museum of Art and The Museum of Fine Arts in Houston. Commissions include BBC Four, for the three-part series: The Art That Made Mexico.

Emmanuelle Moureaux

Emmanuelle Moureaux is a French architect who was shortlisted for the Art Prize in 2017. The works layer colourful papercuts in immersive environments. She has created installations for designers UNIQLO and ISSEY MIYAKI, with the 100 colors series shown around the world. Forest of Numbers celebrated the 10th anniversary of The National Art Center, Tokyo. She was a finalist in the Architizer A+ Awards and will present NOW Gallery’s 2020 design commission.

Giulio di Sturco

World Press Photo award-winner Giulio di Sturco was shortlisted for the Art Prize in 2019. The artist has since been nominated for the Prix Pictet 2019 – the world’s leading prize for photography and sustainability, with a show at the V&A. The photobook Ganga Ma, has been featured in the Financial Times. Other accolades include the Sony World Photography Award and the Getty Images Reportage Grant.

Jane & Louise Wilson

Jane and Louise Wilson RA Elect, shortlisted for the 2019 Art Prize, have been working as an artist duo for over two decades. In 1999, they were shortlisted for the Turner Prize. They have had numerous exhibitions in venues across the UK and internationally, including Tate, London; Guggenheim Museum, Bilbao and Museum of Modern Art, New York. Recent works include a commission for the Imperial War Museum, London.

Jasmina Cibic

Jasmina Cibic looks at structures of “soft power”, unravelling how political rhetoric is deployed through art and architecture. Since being shortlisted for the Art Prize 2017, Cibic’s works have been on display at institutions across the world, including BALTIC, Gateshead; The Louvre, Paris; Whitechapel Gallery, London and the Museum of Modern Art, New York. Cibic has released four books and was shortlisted for the 2018 Film London Jarman Award.

Jenn Nkiru

British-Nigerian director Jenn Nkiru won the 2019 Aesthetica Art Prize. The film Rebirth Is Necessary screened before Black Panther at the London premiere. Nkiru won the Voice of a Woman award at Cannes Film Festival, and her music video for Beyoncé and Jay-Z is globally recognised. The film Black to Techno premiered at Frieze Los Angeles, showing at The Whitney Biennial, MOCA , ICA and Somerset House – where she is a resident.

John Keane

John Keane won the Art Prize in 2015. He came to prominence in 1990 when commissioned by the Imperial War Museum (IWM) to be the Official British War Artist of the Gulf War. He has had exhibitions with Flowers Gallery and Royal Academy, including 2018’s Age of Terror: Art Since 9/11. Keane’s work is part of Christie’s Corporate Collection, London; Detroit Institute of Fine Art, Michigan; and Glasgow Museums.

Julia Vogl

Julia Vogl won the 2011 Art Prize. The artist, who creates social sculpture, has gone on to win the Catlin Art Prize and be shortlisted for the Jerwood Drawing Prize. Vogl became a member of the Royal British Sculpture Society in 2017 and has hosted a number of talks – including a TEDx Talk. Her work has been exhibited at Tate Modern, and in 2019 she was selected for ITVCreates – one of 52 artists selected to create an IDENT sculpture.

Liz West

Liz West was a finalist in the 2016 Art Prize, creating vivid environments that mix luminous colour and radiant light. West has been commissioned worldwide by Natural History Museum, National Trust, National Science and Media Museum and London Design Festival. The work has been widely published in Wallpaper*, Design Boom, Huffington Post, The Times and The Independent, and featured in books by Thames & Hudson and Gingko Press.

Sim Chi Yin

Magnum photographer Sim Chi Yin was shortlisted for the Aesthetica Art Prize in 2019 for Most people were silent, a work commissioned by Nobel Peace Prize. The artist has since spoken at Barbican Centre, London, on Images, Agency, and the Environment, had a solo show in Hong Kong and been featured by BBC World Service. In previous years, Sim Chi Yin exhibited at the Nobel Peace Centre, Oslo, and was nominated for the Prix Pictet.

Tania Franco Klein

Shortlisted for the Art Prize in 2017, Franco Klein’s photography explores consumption and media overstimulation. Her work has been exhibited across Europe, the US and Mexico in solo shows and major fairs. She has won at the Sony World Photography Awards twice, received accolades from Lensculture and is a FOAM Paul Huf Award nominee. Her first publication was nominated for the Paris Photo Aperture Foundation First Book Award in 2019.

Toby Dye

Filmmaker Toby Dye has directed an acclaimed catalogue of work, recognised with major international awards. Dye has collaborated with Netflix, Sky, Ford and the NHS, whilst producing Phobos with Ridley Scott – starring Michael Fassbender. The 2016 shortlisted piece The Corridor was part of a Kubrick-inspired show at Somerset House, London. Dye’s has been covered in the Washington Post, Time and The Guardian.