Creative Writing Winners 2016

Shortlisted Poetry and Short Fiction works from the 2016 Prize, were published in the Creative Writing Anthology 2017.

Shortlisted Writers 2016

Alexandra Strnad – The Eyemouth Tapestry and November
Ali Thurm – Desire lines
Amanda Merritt – Mirror/ Mirror
Angela Carr – Experimental Mathematics
Anita John – The Kitchen
Anne Summerfield – I go with my grandfather to a Belgian brothel
Anthony Watts – A Proper Fire
Ashley Haywood – Evernight
Bo Crowder – The view from row L
Cameron McGill – No kindness in the joke
Cheyanne-Joni Morris – All That Glitters
Chris Connolly – The Speed of Light and How it Cannot Help Us
CJ Atkinson – lit.
Clare Hunter – Mrs Hendry’s Bracelet
David Butler – Home Truths
Deborah DeNicola – Color Blind
Douglas Bruton – LEARNING TO FLY
Emma Axelsson – Fracture
Fiona Armstrong – Ice in the Blood
George Woods – Storm birds
Hayley Jones – Things I Have Wasted Money On
Helen de Búrca – The laugh
Helena Fox Dunan – the boy you love is going to die
Hieu Gray – Ghost Song
Hilary Alexander – The Train Journey
Ingrid Jendrzejewski – The Hard Girls of Softball
Janet Newman – Cycling at Dawn
Janet Lees – Reconsecrated

Jay Gordon – Escaping The Inescapable
Jenny Lewis – Sur le Pont des Arts
João Coelho – Looking out the window
John Forde – Love In the Afternoon
Jonathan Greenhause – We draw a bath and Our Recurring List of Heartbreaks
Kristi Carter – When a Ghost Touches Your Body
Lesley Sharpe – Antler Dreamer
Louis Klee – No Echo
Louise Ihringer – Work Trip and Postpartum
Lynn Caldwell – In Your Own Dreamtime
Majella Kelly – Clipping A Cockatiel’s Wings (for Dummies)
Mallory Imler Powell – The circumstances
Mara Adamitz Scrupe – there’re two Dicks in my house
Maris O’Rourke – Spells To Tame Children
Mark Carson – In County Clare
Matthew Hooton – This Country
Paul Munden – Modulations to a minor key
Rebecca Hurst – And then we saw the daughter of the minotaur and Cabbage, 1987, acrylic on canvas
Rebekah Cuevas – Dry Erase
Rosie Sandler – Holding On
Ruth Brandt – Letters From Prague
S K Grout – Aaron Siskind Pleasures and Terrors of Levitation 93 1961
Shelley Sclater – The Memory Box
Stav Poleg – Site-Specific Streetcar
Sue Wootton – Smeuse
Thomas Atkinson – DANCING TURTLE