Prizes for Emerging Artists

Prizes for Emerging Artists

In an increasingly media-saturated digital landscape, it can be challenging for new artists to break into the sector. Aesthetica selects five awards which foster emerging talent, offering wider platforms for the next generation of creative visionaries.

Foam Talent

This award commends talented photographers between the ages of 18 and 35, investigating the current state of play through work from around the world. Selected practitioners gain exposure and recognition within the industry through several career-building accolades, including a travelling group show.

Lumen Prize

Looking to the future of art and design, the Lumen Prize for Digital Art highlights pioneering practitioners working with technology. Categories include VR/AR, 3D Interactive, Still and Moving Image, accepting submissions from those working across all media. It stages global exhibitions and events, showcasing inspiring, cutting-edge pieces to new audiences.

ING Unseen Talent Award

ING Unseen gives new European photographic talent an international platform. Highlighting works that deliver insightful perspectives on timely socio-political issues, it provides career-changing opportunities whilst reflecting on the world around us. Finalists are introduced to experts and professionals, becomes part of a wider creative network.

The Jarman Award

Inspired by visionary filmmaker Derek Jarman, The Film London Jarman Award recognises UK-based moving image artists, encouraging experimentation, imagination and innovation within the genre of artist’s film. Exploring the limits of the discipline, the initiative delves into contemporary issues through 35mm, CGI, animation and more.

The Aesthetica Art Prize

The Aesthetica Art Prize is a celebration of excellence in art from across the world. It gives both emerging and established artists the opportunity to further their engagement with the international art world, awarding £5000 prize money, publication and a summer exhibition. It is accepting boundary pushing entries across range of innovative media until 31 August 2018.

1. André Lichtenberg, 1.12am Untitled 2, from the Dream series, 2010
2. Namsa Leuba, from NGL, 2015.
3. Nicolas Feldmeyer, After All.
4. Miren Pastor, from Fool For Love.
5. Jasmina Cibic, from Nada.
6. Joachim Hildebrand, Wild West, 2015-17.