Introspective Practices

The fifth Aesthetica Art Prize Exhibition opens on Friday 26 May and continues until 10 September, presenting innovative works by 16 international artists at York Art Gallery. A platform for innovation and originality, the presentation invites audiences to engage with captivating projects from some of today’s leading artists.

From individual narratives to global concerns, the artworks comment on contemporary culture and explore themes such as globalisation, perceptions of space and alienation in the digital age. The shortlist includes 16 artists who hail from diverse locations such as Austria, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Germany, Mexico, the USA and the UK. Utilising a range of media, they work within the categories of Photographic & Digital Art; Painting, Drawing & Mixed Media; Three Dimensional Design & Sculpture and Video, Installation & Performance.

The shortlisted artists include Adam Basanta, Adam Niklewicz, Alinka Echeverría, breadedEscalope, Dylan Martinez, Emmanuelle Moureaux, Jasmina Cibic, Judith Jones, Julio Bittencourt, Lesley Hilling, Maryam Tafakory, Sara Morawetz, Stanza, Stephen Johnston, Toby Dye and Webb-Ellis.

The accompanying publication Future Now: 100 Contemporary Artists, which features the artists’ statements, images of their works and essays from leading art figures, is on sale at the exhibition. A series of Lunchtime Talks will take place at the gallery throughout the exhibition, offering a chance for visitors to enhance their experience of the Aesthetica Art Prize and hear directly from artists, curators and academics.

The Judging Panel will be selecting the winners of the Main Prize and the Student Prize, announced at the Aesthetica Art Prize Exhibition Private View this evening. The panel comprises influential art figures, including curators, directors and artists whose expertise span all media.

Panel members include Whitney Hintz, Independent Advisor and Curator of the Hiscox Collection; Alistair Payne, Head, School of Fine Art, Glasgow School of Art; Olivier Richon, Photography Lecturer, Royal College of Art; Reyahn King, Chief Executive, York Museums Trust; Jonathan Watkins, Director, Ikon Gallery; Susanna Brown, Curator of Photographs, V&A; Rachel Ara, Artist, Aesthetica Art Prize Winner 2016; Eleanor Clayton, Curator, The Hepworth Wakefield; Cherie Federico, Co-founder & Managing Director of Aesthetica.

Aesthetica Art Prize Exhibition, 26 May – 10 September (Daily 10am – 5pm), York Art Gallery, Exhibition Square, York YO1 7EW. For admission details, visit

1. Judith Jones, Road to Nowhere.