Aesthetica Art Prize Judge: Karin Askham

The Aesthetica Art Prize is currently open for entries, welcoming submissions from artists working across the world in any discipline. The award champions excellence in contemporary art, and selects 100 artists for publication as well as eight shortlisted artists who will be exhibited in York, UK, in spring 2016.

The shortlisted artists will also receive substantial prize money to support future development. £5,000 will be awarded to the Main Prize winner and £1,000 to the Student Prize winner courtesy of Hiscox.

The judging panel for the Aesthetica Art Prize, now in its eighth year, includes influential art figures and professionals leading the industry today. The panel comprises curators and artists, and their combined expertise span all media from photography to artists’ film and moving image, painting to drawing, installation to sculpture, and design to conceptual art.

Karin Askham, Dean of the school of Media at London College of Communication, is one of the judges for this year.  In her role as Dean of the school of Media, Askham’s portfolio includes undergraduate and postgraduate courses in photography, sound arts, film and television, media theory, journalism, PR and publishing.

Her previous post was Associate Dean of the Graduate School at London College of Fashion (LCF), supporting the transformation of the postgraduate teaching portfolio of the College. Karin’s extensive teaching career has built on experimental approaches to the notions of the ‘staged moment’ and culminated in the founding of the first BA and MA in Fashion Photography courses.

Karin’s practice as a photographer has resulted in her work being exhibited nationally and internationally. Karin’s earlier photographic work has been featured on record covers and numerous publications including Attitude, The Face, NME and Tank.

Enter the Aesthetica Art Prize by 31 August at

Follow us on Twitter @AestheticaMag for the latest news in contemporary art and culture.

1. Laura Stevens, Another November. Courtesy of the artist and the Aesthetica Art Prize.