The Aesthetica Art Prize is Open for Entries

The Aesthetica Art Prize is Open for Entries

Hosted by Aesthetica Magazine, the Aesthetica Art Prize is an annual award that celebrates excellence in contemporary art. Now in its eighth year, it has reopened for entries and offers both emerging and established artists the opportunity to connect with international audiences.

Prizes include publication in an anthology produced by Aesthetica for 100 longlisted artists, out of which eight will be selected for exhibition. The group show takes place in spring 2016 and is held in partnership with York Museums Trust. Further career-boosting prizes include £5,000 courtesy of Hiscox and editorial coverage in Aesthetica Magazine, which attracts a global readership of over 180,000. Further, winning artists will receive a selection of inspiring art books from Prestel and art supplies vouchers courtesy of Winsor & Newton up to the value of £250.

This year’s judging panel includes Alex Newson, Senior Curator at the Design Museum; Phillip Prodger, Head of Photographs Collection at the National Portrait Gallery; Dr Sam Lackey, Curator at The Hepworth Wakefield; John Keane, artist and Aesthetica Art Prize Winner 2015; Whitney Hintz, Independent Advisor and Curator of the Hiscox Collection; Clare Lilley, Director of Programme at Yorkshire Sculpture Park, and Karin Askam, Dean of School of Media, London College of Communication.

Artists will be able to submit their work up until 31 August in the following categories: Painting & Drawing; Photographic & Digital Art; Three Dimensional Design & Sculpture, and Video, Installation and Performance.

Previous finalists include Julia Vogl, also shortlisted for New Sensations – Saatchi Gallery and Channel 4′s Prize; Ingrid Hu, former designer at the Lubetkin-winning Heatherwick Studio; Marcus Jansen, a leading modern expressionist; and Bernat Millet, also shortlisted for National Portrait Gallery’s Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize.

To enter the Aesthetica Art Prize, visit

Follow us on Twitter @AestheticaMag for the latest news in contemporary art and culture.

1. Neil Douglas, Council Blossoms. Courtesy of the artist and Aesthetica.